Reiki training classes, Learn Reiki in Urdu and English

The Seven Chakras in Human Body

Teaching of Chakras and Aura became part of Reiki training after Mrs. Takata passed away in 1980. I teach this topic in Reiki First Degree course (Level 1) in detail. Seeking information about chakras and aura through Internet seems quite popular. Commonly used search words and phrases are colors of chakras, location of chakras, seven fields of aura, what is aura etc. but treatment of chakras does not sound as popular, which is in fact more important than mere information. Some of my students show extra ordinary interest in chakras and start questioning about them just in the beginning of my talk. The information given below has been taken from various books and is based on generally prevailing concepts.

What are Chakras?

The human being consists of mainly two bodies, namely the physical body and the spiritual body. The spiritual body is composed of vibrations of light, which are structured in a way so that they create a large number of different energy centers. These energy centers are referred to as chakras. Chakra is a Sanskrit word, which means a wheel. There are countless chakras in the human body. In fact every cell of the body is an energy center but out of all, seven are considered as main energy centers or chakras. All these seven chakras are located in a straight line along the spine, beginning at the base of the spine and finishing over the top of the head. They keep rotating and generating energy, which looks after physical, intellectual and emotional functions of our body, mind and spirit. This energy is perceived as light by the spiritual eye.

Location of seven major chakras in body and their colors, Crown chakra, third eye, throat and heart chakras, solar plexus, sacral and root chakras

Chakras are not physical in nature while the body cells are. Therefore, chakras cannot be seen like other parts of the body through physical eye or X-ray machine etc. The system of chakras was perceived (or discovered) by the Indian Yogis thousands of years back when the science was in its very initial stages but the wheel had been invented. Since a wheel rotated and the chakras also rotate, they were referred to as wheels. The seven traditionally known chakras correspond to various endocrine glands as follows:

Root Chakra: Adrenal glands
Sacral Chakra: Glands associated with reproductive organs
Solar Plexus: Pancreas
Heart Chakra: Thymus gland
Throat Chakra: Thyroid
Third eye Chakra: Pineal gland
Crown Chakra: Pituitary gland

There is lot of information available on this topic both in books as well as on Internet but there are also certain myths floating around. For example, one of those was that Chakras are outside the body in the aura, not inside. This is not true; they are not outside the body.

Colors and Speed of Chakras

Each chakra has a color and an element of nature associated with it. The colors are in the order of the rainbow colors beginning with the Root Chakra: red, orange, yellow, green, blue, indigo, and violet. Each chakra (in fact the energy in each chakra) vibrates and rotates at a different speed. The root or first Chakra rotates at the slowest speed and the Crown or Seventh Chakra at the highest. All chakras should be in harmony with each other. A chakra may start moving too fast creating excessive energy or too slow creating deficient energy or may get altogether blocked. These two conditions are not normal. If flow of the life force energy through a chakra is not normal, the results will be different to the normal functions of that particular chakra. Such chakras must be treated and balanced.

Other articles related with this topic ...